April 4 – The Croods (2013)

Who said I can’t watch animated movies? I still wanted to keep the light comedy thing going on, so I watched a kid’s movie. I was originally going to watch some other movie for today but my friend convinced me to watch this  instead because she really wanted to check it out. I decided to go along with it and it turned out well. It was also nice to have some addition to my list, since I don’t think it covers the entire summer. Watching current movies is something I look forward to doing as the summer goes on. And I believe there are upcoming blockbuster films showing this summer like The Hangover or Iron Man 3, if I’m not mistaken. Thanks friend!

The_Croods_posterThe movie I watched for today is the very recent 2013 Dreamworks Animation comedy movie titled The Croods. It’s so recent that I watched in the theaters. The story follows the life of a family of cavemen, brought up by strict rules to survive. Apparently the dad was voiced by Nicolas Cage and the lead guy was voiced Ryan Reynolds. I honestly wouldn’t have known until my friend told me. Eep was voiced by Emma Stone. That I figured out halfway through the movie. I can’t possibly miss that hot raspy voice. Led by the father, they struggle to survive in the prehistoric times. The family’s solidarity is threatened by the daughter’s, Eep, adventurous and curious nature. All hell breaks loose when massive earthquakes destroy their home and expose them to a whole new world. Now they are forced to confront the dilemma of treading in unfamiliar environment or stick to their roots. Continue reading

April 3 – Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004)

Ever wondered what happened in news rooms during the 70’s?

Movie_poster_Anchorman_The_Legend_of_Ron_BurgundyAfter enduring two days of watching messed-up movies, my mind couldn’t take anymore sophistication. I need some lightness and happiness in my life. So today I decided to watch slapstick comedy to balance out the horror of the past two days with laughs. That’s why the movie I watched for today was the 2004 film Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy produced by Judd Apatow. It stars Will Ferell as Ron Burgundy, as well as Christina Applegate, Steve Carell, Paul Rudd among many others. Who better to look at for good slapstick comedies than Will Ferrell and Judd Apatow. I wouldn’t be surprised if they mesh well together, since they have the same comedy style. If you’ve watched Apatow’s films such as The 40-year Old Virgin (2005), Superbad (2007), or Bridesmaids (2011) and any Will Ferrell movie, they’re usually filled with inappropriate jokes, side comments, sexual innuendos, exaggeration, and a lot of shouting. Will Ferrell can’t seem to speak in appropriate tone range, he always shouts like a retard in his movies. Mix in a couple fights here and there and you got a generic Will Ferrell movie. It’s probably why his comedy doesn’t sell in countries like China where they have no sense of humor. I’m almost sure that’s a real Will Ferrell quote. Continue reading