April 8 – Zoolander (2001)

After two days of being away, I am back! The past two days have been totally weird for me. I had no drive. I just waited for time to pass so I can sleep again. I have some of those sometimes, but I’m fine. I promised myself that I won’t miss an entry at the start of a new week, so here I am! Ready and kicking once again! To commemorate my rejuvenated myself, I didn’t wanna watch some downer movie to push me down again. I wanted to see something light and funny to lift my spirits. Where else would I look for other than the slacker group of the 90’s frat pack? They have a wikipedia article, look it up.

Movie_poster_zoolanderI decided to acquire the services of Mr. Ben Stiller and his 2001 comedy movie Zoolander. The story revolves around the male supermodel industry, mainly the life of a charismatic idiot male supermodel Derek Zoolander, played by Ben Stiller. His life changes when he was ousted by the rising star Hansel as the new male supermodel of the year. He then gets brainwashed by Mugatu, a model agent, to assassinate the Malaysian prime minister for child labor. Yes this show is that crazy. Matilda, a journalist, tries to save Zoolander from undergoing this assassination to purge her guilt for writing a bad article on him. Ben Stiller was not alone on this. He joined an ensemble cast with his fellow frat-packer Owen Wilson as upcoming supermodel Hansel, his wife Christine Taylor as Matilda, and Will Ferrell as Mugatu. I really love the comedy between Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson (or any Frat Packer actually). Their characters are either doing stupid things together or serve as perfect foils for each other. Others movies I’ve watched of them are Bottle Rocket (1996) and recently Little Fockers (2010). I also love the natural on-screen chemistry between him and his wife. Try watching their other movies such as Dodgeball (2004). As for Will Ferrell, he’s almost always the same in every movie and can be funny on his own. Continue reading